My Windows 8 experience

Today, I bought Windows 8 Pro. Yes. You heard it right, I did buy a software.

For people who know me, I would never buy any software, especially when there was an option available. But somehow I went ahead this time and bought a licensed copy of Windows 8 Pro for INR 1999. This is my install experience from buying to writing this post.

The first thing I did was to Google for sometime trying to get an understanding of problems faced by others. This gave me a sense of the potential issues as well as some so idea about the entire process.

Now it was the time to download the Windows 8 Upgrade assistant. The assistant correctly displayed Windows 8 Pro as an option to checkout after scanning my pc for Windows 8 compatibility. I was doing this from a laptop belonging to my uncle. When I choose to do a checkout, it gave me an error.

“We can’t get that info right now….”

I tried the option repeatedly but to no avail. The error kept on coming every time. Then I decided to switch to another machine. This time it worked, and within minutes I was charged for INR 1999. Then the download process began. The download took over two and a half hours to complete. Post the download I used a USB stick to create a bootable media and installed Windows 8 on my new desktop.

The installation process was good, more human than the previous Windows versions. The messages on-screen were easy to understand with a large font making more easy to read. I liked the changing background colours, it was something different.

I had an idea that Windows 8 would be different and Microsoft showed this before I could begin. I decided to login using my live id/Microsoft Account. During the time my user was being created, I was shown an animated graphic explaining how to bring up the charms using the mouse.

After login, all my profile along with my contacts and pictures were in sync from my Windows phone, ready to use. This is my start screen…

My Start screen

 

All in all the experience was good, I am exploring all the option I an explore. I must say this tough, Windows 8 Pro for INR 1999 is a good deal.

2 thoughts on “My Windows 8 experience

Have your say

